Program Income Limits & Requirements (CLT)

Community Land Trust (CLT) Eligibility and Program Requirements
1. You must be a first-time homebuyer (haven’t owned a home in the past 3 years). You may also qualify if:

  • You are single parent who has only owned with a former spouse while married; or
  • You are an individual who is a displaced homemaker and has only owned with a spouse.

2. Your gross household income must be less than 80% of the HUD Area Median Income (AMI) adjusted by family size. For example, the annual gross income (before taxes) for a family of four must be less than $58,300.  See chart below.

Income Limits (FY 2019) for Chandler, Scottsdale and Tempe
 (FY 2019 Maricopa County – Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale MSA – effective 4/24/19)

Family Size

1 Person

2 Persons

3 Persons

4 Persons

5 Persons

6 Persons

80% AMI







Qualifications are determined at closing when you buy your house. After closing you are free to increase your income or change household size.

3. You must be able to qualify for a conventional mortgage through a participating lender. Typically, this requires a steady income, satisfactory credit, and a modest amount of consumer debt. Newtown will help you find out if you qualify now. If you don’t qualify now we can help you create an individualized action plan so you can qualify.

4. You must contribute at least $2,500 toward down payment and closing costs.

5. You may use Individual Development Account (IDA) funds to help buy a Community Land Trust house.

How to get started:

  • The fastest way to get started is to submit an Application Form; a representative will contact you to schedule a meeting with a Newtown CLT Specialist.
  • Attend a CLT Orientation; a one-hour workshop where you can learn all about Newtown’s CLT program.  Check our events calendar for the next scheduled workshop.





close window